ALERT

REGARDING COVID-19:

To support our customers, Uptick will be expediting requests relating to COVID-19 marketing strategy and website updates. Please include COVID in your subject line.

How Do I Grant User Access in Google Analytics?

google analytics

Here at Uptick, we’re very familiar with this problem: you want to share your Google Analytics with someone, but you don’t want them to have access to your entire Google Account. Because it’s a pretty good idea to keep even your most trusted web developer or SEO expert away from your Gmail and YouTube search history—you know, for your own privacy. 

If you already have a Google Analytics account, but you now need to share it with someone outside of your organization (like Uptick, for example), then this guide is for you. There’s a chance you’re scratching your head and thinking, “Can’t I just give them the password?” and you’re right to think that—to an extent. You could do that if you’re okay with them having total access. But, even still—thanks to Google’s enhanced security features—the password alone might not let them in. 

So, to keep your data safe and make it easier for someone else to access just your analytics, here’s what you need to do. 

How to Share Your Google Analytics

First thing’s first—log in to your Google Analytics account. At the bottom left of your screen, you’ll see a button that takes you to your Admin panel. Sometimes this button is just a gear icon. Your admin panel is made up of three separate levels: Account, Property, and View. While you can manage users (a.k.a. decide who has access) at any level, we recommend giving access at the Property level. 

Click on “user management.” You’ll notice that some features in your Admin panel are grayed out. That means you don’t have access to change those settings. If you can’t share at the Property level, try to share at the View level. If you can’t share at that level either, you’ll need to find out who has administrative-level access to your account. That person can take care of it for you. 

After you’ve given access at the Property level, you’ll see a new screen. Here’s where you can view the users who already have access to this property, their email address, and what level of permissions they have. You should also see a plus sign near the top right of the page. Find that icon, and click there. It’ll give you the options to either add new users, or add new groups. Click “add new users.” 

Here comes the easy part—all you need is someone’s Google email (Gmail) address to invite them. You can decide, from this screen, who to invite and how much access to give them. It’s always a good idea to make sure the “notify new users by email” box is checked, so they know exactly when they have access. 

What Are the Different Levels of Access?

Edit: People with this level of access can create and edit accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, etc. They can’t manage users, though. 

Collaborate: These people can create and edit shared assets like dashboards and annotations. 

Read and Analyze: With this level of access, people can view reports and configuration data. 

Manage Users: People with this level of access can add users, delete users, and change all user permissions. 

Whoever you’re working with, or whoever is requesting access, will let you know what level they need and why! 

Now You Know How to Share Google Analytics—Need More?

If you need someone to analyze your business’s analytics and craft a tailored digital marketing strategy for you, we’re your people. Get in touch with us today and we’ll start talking goals.

Category General

Contact Us today

Interested in learning more about digital marketing for your business? Contact our team today!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.